Photo A Day Challenge | September 2013

Mood: Happy Snapper

To all the fathers in Australia, New Zealand, Papua New Guinea and Fiji, Happy Father’s Day. To my father and J’s father, we hope you both have a wonderful day today!

We have had a most wonderful visit from J’s parents, who spent just under 2 weeks with us in August. The time just flew as we were having so much fun! Master S had a most fantastic time playing with Grandma and Grandpa – we’re pretty sure they were glad to leave and get home for a rest after being worn out by the little monster. But by the look of it, they loved every minute of their stay too. Mum R celebrated her 60th birthday with us, and the day was a happy one with a sumptuous breakfast of bacon and eggs, followed by a delicious lunch hosted by Nana’s partner’s daughter at Tuggerah. Dinner was even more special – I made steamed scallops with XO sauce and glass noodles, and a mountain of pineapple fried rice as well. We treated Mum to a very special toy – an iPod Touch, which she has barely put down since she opened the box. We strongly suspect she likes her present!

In other news, I’ve now gone back to work on a full time basis. I had been working 3 days a week since I returned to work in January this year, after taking 2 years of maternity leave. We had not factored in the surprise of last year, and that we would be on one income for an extended period. Going back to work full time was not an easy decision to make, but in the end, it benefitted everyone – me and J because of the increased income, and work because my team is quite short-staffed at the moment. We were also assured, by our daycarer, that our social little man would be able to cope with being in daycare 5 days a week. I’ve now been working full time for a week, and I am a shattered woman. I could sleep for a week. Here’s hoping I get back in the swing of things soon – it’s quite embarrassing to pass out on the bus on my way home from work in the afternoons!

(On a side note, I’ve just looked at my diary, and we have something on every weekend until the middle of October. God help me!!!)

With the first of September comes a new list of prompts for this awesome Photo A Day Challenge created by Fat Mum Slim. Here’s the list for September, along with more details on the prompts / topics / themes. This month’s list is special, because it comprises entirely of prompts suggested / submitted by the participants of the challenge!

As I have done in the past, I will be sharing my photos on Instagram, as well as Fat Mum Slim’s Facebook page. You will also find my photos on Twitter, StreamZoo and EyeEm.

Feel free to join me in this month of fun and take some awesome photos too!

Leave a Reply

