I ♥ KFC!

Mood: Yay!

I love my KFC. I really do. It really was love at first bite.

I remember the crispy skin, the tangy spices, the succulent meat, and the oily juices running down my chin and arms as I held the hot piece of chicken in my hands. So artery-clogging, but so good!

However, my body doesn’t love KFC as much as my tastebuds do. I can only eat KFC sparingly, and only once in a while. If I have it too frequently, I tend to get bad stomach aches. Worse yet, I become physically ill. Let’s not go there on what too much KFC can do to my system.

And now, KFC has given me hope that if I wish to indulge, I may be able to eat it more frequently. By changing the oil in which the chicken is fried (to make it slightly healthier) and by introducing a new "grilled" menu, there’s now hope that my body will not object to KFC slightly more frequently!

FINALLY, KFC OPTS FOR THE GOOD OIL
Kelly Burke
June 16, 2009 (SMH Online)

Yum! Restaurants, makers of KFC, will ditch palm oil for a healthier alternative, two years after the company stared down the Federal Government and refused to change its ways.

The change coincides with the announcement today that a range of grilled chicken fillet options will be added to the Australian menu, following a successful launch in the US early last year of a grilled on-the-bone variation.

Production of the oil has also been responsible for the illegal clearing of thousands of hectares of rainforest in countries such as Indonesia and Malaysia, but a KFC spokeswoman told the Herald the company used only oil certified by the Roundtable on Sustainable Palm Oil.

In 2006, McDonald’s adopted a canola-sunflower blend, also low in trans fats but with only 12 per cent saturated fat content.

The following March, Yum! told the Herald it had been using palm oil "for many years" and had no intention of converting to a healthier cooking oil, despite a directive by the then assistant health minister, Christopher Pyne, that the fast food industry draw up plans to phase out ingredients such as palm oil and report back in six months.

Yesterday, Yum!’s managing director, Albert Baladi said any delay in changing to a healthier oil was due to difficulty in overcoming a number of problems.

"The most important thing we had to do was ensure continuous supply [of an alternative oil], then that the oil delivered the same taste our customers expected. These are not things you can turn on or off with a switch," he said.

Along with the switch to a canola-sunflower blend for cooking, KFC has now also made a commitment to reduce the salt content in its food across the board by 10 per cent.

The company will reportedly spend $35 million introducing the menu changes, including a $10 million campaign to market the new grilled chicken products.

Leave a Reply

