I’m A Public Servant!

Mood: A-Ok

I have a job!

Really. Truly. Finally. I have a job!!!

My beautiful friend Dee had worked really hard batting for me in these past few weeks. First, she got me in the door to cover for someone who was on secondment. The secondment period was only 2 weeks, and as we drew towards the end of the period (being this Friday), Dee somehow managed to get me another role in a different division. And this role is an ongoing one with no end date, and a lot more money!

Love this girl!!! Love her work!!!

Such a shame all those recruiters from all those recruitment agencies didn’t feel they needed to work as hard for me as my friend did.

Doesn’t matter now. I’m well and truly in the Public Service door and the only way is up from here. And to be promoted to a more senior role in just 2 weeks has got to say something about my skills, right?

Dee mentioned a few things that were of interest. Now that I’m working for the Government, albeit as a contractor, there is nothing stopping me from applying for any permanent roles that may pop up from time to time.

Dee also mentioned that the role I’m going into from next Monday may well be made permanent in the near future. And as I’ll be the incumbent, I’ll more than likely be helping to write the job description, and the interviewers always favour the incumbent, unless the incumbent was incompetent, and I have no intention of being seen as anything less than very capable and highly competent.

Dee has put in some really great references for me to the new division, and my new manager and I had a great meeting yesterday, so it’s looking really positive at this point. The new manager wanted someone to stick around for a while, and Dee has told him that the only way he will lose my services would be if I found a permanent job. From what she’s told me, the new manager will now work harder to make the role a permanent one.

To say the very least, I’m quite happy with how things have worked out. I’m working with some really really lovely people in a grand old building and after 14 weeks of not working, it was really good to finally have something to look forward to on a daily basis. I am a creature of habit and it felt great to reinstate my daily routine of getting up, showering, getting dressed, going to work, working and going home from work. I’m even loving battling buses that are occasionally crowded and often late!

My 14 weeks of forced vacation were really hard. It’s not something I would recommend to anyone. If I had been expecting to be out of work; if I had had any real warning at all, I would / could have put something in place to prevent me from sliding into a deep black hole that had me in tears whenever someone asked "how’s the job hunting going?"

For the last 4 of those 14 weeks, I felt I had no purpose in life. Every day, I had to force myself to get out of bed, even though I couldn’t see any real point in getting out of bed. Every day, I had to force myself to take off my pyjamas and put on different clothes, even though I knew there was no point as I wasn’t leaving the apartment and no one would see me anyway. Every day, I had to force myself to look for work, even though I truly didn’t want to as I couldn’t face another automated rejection email response.

I know there will be a time in the near future when I’ll be taking another "forced" break from work, but that one I’ll look forward to with relish, as I know it will be a very busy "break".

It’s getting a tad late, and I really should hit the hay so I can be fresh for work tomorrow. Yay for being able to say that!

And for those with a keen eye, if you can work out what building is in the picture, you will have worked out where I’m working right now.

Leave a Reply

