A Lady Who Lunches (And Dines)!!!

Mood: Sheepishly Sluggish

What a complete blow out day yesterday was, resulting in my feeling sluggish today.

Angela, Karina and I had arranged to meet up for lunch yesterday. Over a bottle of wine, we leisurely caught up before Karina had to return to work. Angela and I tried to convince her to stay on for another drink, but Karina took the responsible route and headed back to her office. As Angela was on holidays, we decided to have a few more drinks at another establishment. One drink led to another, and lunch finally concluded at around 5pm.

It was great to see the Shipway girls. They are amongst my oldest friends – I’ve known the girls for almost 20 years and whenever we catch up, we pick up where we left off the previous time. We agreed that it was far too long between catch ups recently, and made plans to see each other more often this year.

After such a salubrious lunch, I came home to my enticing couch and dozed for a time. At around 6pm, I received an unexpected phone call from Cameron who wanted to pay a visit.

I love catching up with Cameron. We don’t see each other nearly enough. Cameron is so busy these days – he has his own business and is splitting his time between Newcastle and Sydney. He only had one day off during the festive season – Christmas Day – he even had clients calling him on New Year’s Day!!!

Catching up with Cameron often involves far too much alcohol. And last night was no exception. Cameron was only going to stay for a couple, but a couple turned into 8 beers, a couple of Bacardis and a few Bombay Sapphires. At some point in the night, I realised that I had been drinking since 12.30pm and had had no dinner, so we made up a platter of smoked salmon, Brie, capers and crackers and tucked into the food at 10pm on the balcony.

I learned a few things last night, like trying to catch a cockroach while slightly inebriated is hard! And Bombay Sapphire Gin and Schweppes Ciata is a very refreshing mix!

Before long, we realised that it was well past midnight, and Cameron still had to work today, so we took ourselves to bed. I think Cameron might still have been talking to me at one point when I passed out and started snoring.

At 7am, Cameron’s all singing, all dancing iPhone started making all sorts of noises, and so began our day. Cameron didn’t really want to go to work today, so I told him to have the day off. But alas, he packed up his laptop (which was out charging overnight) and left me to fuzzily find my way around my apartment.

If he had decided to take the day off, Cameron could have used any of the following Top Ten Out-Of-Office messages. I especially like #4 and #10!

#10: I am on holiday. Your e-mail has been deleted.

#9: I’m not really out of the office. I’m just ignoring you.

#8: I am currently out at a job interview and will reply to you if I fail to get the position.

#7: You are receiving this automatic notification because I am out of the office. If I was in, chances are you wouldn’t have received anything at all.

#6: Hi. I’m thinking about what you’ve just sent me. Please wait by your PC for my response.

#5: I will be unable to delete all the emails you send me until I return from vacation on 5th Jan. Please be patient and your mail will be deleted in the order it was received.

#4: Thank you for your message, which has been added to a queuing system. You are currently in 352nd place, and can expect to receive a reply in approximately 11 weeks 3 days.

#3: The e-mail server is unable to verify your server connection and is unable to deliver this message. Please restart your computer and try sending again.

#2: I’ve run away to join a different circus.

#1: Thank you for your email. Your credit card has been charged $5.99 for the first ten words and $1.99 for each additional word in your message.

One response to “A Lady Who Lunches (And Dines)!!!

  1. I didnt bother with an out of office message on my email for the last couple of days, they can deal! 😀

Leave a Reply

