Movie Review: Fight Club

Mood: OMG!!!

I was one lucky duck in the week before last when I was treated to not one, not two, but three movies.

J and I received an invitation from Emily to "have a night in" with her and Penny on Saturday night, which would be a relaxing and no-fuss evening of good food (Emily cooked an amazing chilli chicken stir fry) and good company. Emily also spent up big on discounted DVDs on Saturday afternoon, so we were asked to help her kick off the viewings.

I had a quick squiz through the pile, and as the one who had viewed the least number of movies in the past few years, it was left to me to choose the movie for the night. So I chose Fight Club.

For those of you who haven’t seen the movie, look away at the end of this paragraph. And get your butt immediately into gear and see it – rent it, buy it, borrow it from a friend, steal it from the internet – I don’t care how you get your hands on a copy of this movie – just do it. You will thank me later. Trust me on this one.

For those of you who have, but for some odd reason need to be reminded what the movie was about, below is the synopsis.

FIGHT CLUB is narrated by a lonely, unfulfilled young man (Edward Norton) who finds his only comfort in feigning terminal illness and attending disease support groups. Hopping from group to group, he encounters another pretender, or “tourist”, the morose Marla Singer (Helena Bonham Carter), who immediately gets under his skin. However, while returning from a business trip, he meets a more intriguing character–the subversive Tyler Durden (Brad Pitt). They become fast friends, bonding over a mutual disgust for corporate consumer-culture hypocrisy. Eventually, the two start Fight Club, which convenes in a bar basement where angry men get to vent their frustrations in brutal, bare-knuckle bouts. Fight Club soon becomes the men’s only real priority; when the club starts a cross-country expansion, things start getting really crazy. Like Tyler Durden himself, director David Fincher’s FIGHT CLUB, based on the novel by Chuck Palahniuk, is startlingly aggressive and gleefully mischievous as it skewers the superficiality of American pop culture. Outstanding performances by Norton and Pitt are supported by a razor-sharp script and an arsenal of stunning visual effects that include computer animation and sleight-of-hand editing. One of the most unique films of the late 20th century, FIGHT CLUB is a pitch-black comedy of striking intensity.

Yes, of course I know what the first rule of Fight Club is. I also know what the second rule of Fight Club is. But I have to. I just have to talk about it – even shout it from the mountain tops.

In a word: stunning. I completely agree with the Rotten Tomatoes general consensus statement: solid acting, amazing direction, and elaborate production design make Fight Club a wild ride.

I can’t believe it took me nearly 10 years to see this movie. Neither could Em, Penny or J. And the extra special bonus for everyone else on the night was my reaction to the movie – my facial expressions, audio reactions and physical expressions were second to none in entertaining the masses.

Edward Norton and Brad Pitt were terrific. They were equally good in this movie – I honestly could not pick one over the other as having given a better performance. Norton’s world weariness was perfectly balanced by Pitt’s maniacal frenzy. Their budding relationship was superbly played out – I almost felt sorry for Norton’s narrator as Pitt’s Tyler Durden rode in like a knight in shining armour and took control of everything that was once theirs in equal shares, but slowly emerging to be Tyler’s domain.

I am normally not a fan of Helena Bonham Carter – mainly because I have never developed a full appreciation of her unique style – but I have to say that she was terrific as Marla, adding yet another level of instability to the bigger picture.

The pace of the movie was great – I enjoyed every minute of the bumpy, unpredictable and exhilarating ride. And Em, Penny and J all got a great laugh at my reaction to the big twist of the movie.

Rating:

Yes. Yes I did. I gave it a 5-star rating.

So, to continue the Six Degrees game, from The Dark Knight to Fight Club, there are 3 direct links:

1. Gary Oldman was in True Romance (1993) with Brad Pitt.
2. Morgan Freeman was in Se7en (1995) with Brad Pitt.
3. Maggie Gyllenhaal was in Confessions of a Dangerous Mind (2002) with Brad Pitt.

And Bacon numbers:

Edward Norton (I) has a Bacon number of 2.
* Edward Norton (I) was in Primal Fear (1996) with Alfre Woodard.
* Alfre Woodard was in Beauty Shop (2005) with Kevin Bacon.

Brad Pitt has a Bacon number of 1. (But of course!!!)
* Brad Pitt was in Sleepers (1996) with Kevin Bacon.

Helena Bonham Carter has a Bacon number of 1 . (As well!!!)
* Helena Bonham Carter was in Novocaine (2001) with Kevin Bacon.

Next up – Wanted. Squee!

2 responses to “Movie Review: Fight Club

  1. You had never seen Fight Club???? My goodness girl!

  2. I know, I know … I can\’t remember why I kept avoiding seeing the movie, and am SO glad I finally did!

Leave a Reply

