Movie Review: Sex And The City

Mood: Not Fussed

So much hype surrounded this movie – from the rumours of a film version of the very successful TV series, to the weeks of filming in and around New York, and finally to the world premiere – I couldn’t help but be excited about spending my hard-earned money to see Carrie, Samantha, Miranda and Charlotte on the big screen.

In the weeks leading up to the world premiere, the film was a hot topic of conversation – almost every female I knew were eagerly awaiting their chance to see the film while sipping their Cosmos and/or bubbly at a Hoyts La Premiere / Greater Union Gold Class session, the diehards gloated about their Sydney premiere night tickets (that were sold out months before the film opened), and those without the tickets had even entered competitions to try and snare those elusive tickets to be amongst the first to see the flick.

I, on the other hand, was happy to see it when I got around to it. And to be honest, I’m glad I didn’t race to the cinemas like everyone else.

There was no chance at all that J would accompany me to the viewing. That much was certain. I think he said something along the lines of "I’d rather pull out my fingernails with pliers than sit through that clap trap", and as he had agreed to see Mamma Mia! with me, I figured I’d let him off the hook for this one movie.

Boy, am I glad I didn’t force J to sit through the movie.

The film’s synopsis is below:

“After years of living in the city I assumed that if my friends and I ever got our fairy tale endings that would be the end of the story. But real life – always has a twist.” — Carrie Bradshaw

When it comes to screen size, bigger is definitely better!

The film promises to answer all of the lingering questions – will Carrie and Big finally tie the knot? Can Samantha really be satisfied with just one man? Will Charlotte ever get pregnant? Can Miranda and Steve actually live happily ever after?

Carrie Bradshaw (Sarah Jessica Parker), successful author and everyone’s favourite fashion icon-next-door, is back, her famously sardonic wit intact and sharper than ever, as she continues to narrate her own story about sex, love and the fashion-obsessed single woman in New York City. Sex and the City finds Carrie, Samantha (Kim Cattrall), Charlotte (Kristin Davis), and Miranda (Cynthia Nixon) four years after the hit HBO series ended, as our favourite friends continue to juggle jobs and relationships while navigating motherhood, marriage and Manhattan real estate.

“Year after year, twenty-something women come to New York City in search of the two “L”s: labels and love. Twenty years ago, I was one of them. Having gotten the knack for labels early…I concentrated on love.” — Carrie Bradshaw

Chris Noth reprises his iconic role of Carrie’s handsome yet elusive Mr. Big; David Eigenberg as Miranda’s down-to-earth husband Steve Brady; Evan Handler as Harry, Charlotte’s dependable and loving husband; and Jason Lewis as Smith Jerrod, an actor, client and devoted lover of Samantha’s.

Also co-starring are Candice Bergen as pre-eminent Vogue Magazine editor Enid Frick and Academy Award®-winning actress Jennifer Hudson as Carrie’s young and inexperienced but still label-savvy assistant Louise, a character new to New York and introduced in the film. Also returning are Mario Cantone as Anthony Marentino, Charlotte’s opinionated wedding planner, and Willie Garson as Carrie’s sartorially splendid pal Stanford Blatch.

To be perfectly frank, the movie was definitely not nearly as good as the TV series. In my opinion, the movie could have ended 30 minutes before it finally did end. The whole movie felt far too long and could have been split in two, and with the tone of the movie a lot darker and heavier (and clunkier) than the TV series, I found it very tough going to sit still for a whopping 145 minutes to see Carrie finally go from A to Big.

The girls were still fun to watch – the chemistry that was so prevalent on the TV series translated to the big screen well. It was great to see that Samantha was still with Smith, although for a while I was a little bit annoyed with the character evolving from the founder of WIIFM to someone whose only purpose in life was to look after a man. I loved that Charlotte was still with her wonderful Harry and life for them and their little girl could not be better. I was happy to see Miranda with a meatier storyline for a change – so often in the TV series, I felt Miranda was pushed into the background and it was good to see Cynthia Nixon getting stuck into a role that was more than just bitchy one-liners.

As for Carrie, well, she was just less fun. I get that people have to grow up and act a certain way at a certain age or station of life, and the minute she started prepping for her wedding was when the fun slowly ebbed away. Short of turning Bridezilla, Carrie got, well, carried away with the wedding plans and it was easy to predict the whole thing would ultimately explode in her face.

One must remember that Carrie and Big had an on-and-off relationship throughout the entire TV series, so one should expect that somewhere during the movie, the relationship would also go through the on and off phases. No surprises for guessing when the "twist and turn" happens, and at that very point, the movie should have ended leaving room for a sequel. But, alas, the movie went on for another 30 odd minutes before it mercifully ended with the group gathered to celebrate a major milestone with their signature Cosmos.

Rating:

Well, at least I can say I’ve seen the movie. And I did love her wedding dress. And the walk-in closet. And the pretty pretty shoes … such pretty shoes.

Continuing the Six Degrees game, from The Incredible Hulk to Sex and the City: The Movie, there is 1 direct link:

1. William Hurt (I) was in Mr. Brooks (2007) with Jason Lewis (I).

And Bacon numbers:

Sarah Jessica Parker has a Bacon number of 1. (Too easy.)
* Sarah Jessica Parker was in Footloose (1984) with Kevin Bacon.

Kim Cattrall has a Bacon number of 2.
* Kim Cattrall was in Live Nude Girls (1995) with Robert Harvey (I).
* Robert Harvey (I) was in Rails & Ties (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

Kristin Davis (I) has a Bacon number of 2.
* Kristin Davis (I) was in Adventures of Sharkboy and Lavagirl 3-D, The (2005) with Sasha Pieterse.
* Sasha Pieterse was in Air I Breathe, The (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

Cynthia Nixon has a Bacon number of 2.
* Cynthia Nixon was in Marvin’s Room (1996) with Margo Martindale.
* Margo Martindale was in Rails & Ties (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

Chris Noth has a Bacon number of 2.
* Chris Noth was in Deli, The (1997) with Sherry Ham-Bernard.
* Sherry Ham-Bernard was in Air I Breathe, The (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

David Eigenberg (I) has a Bacon number of 2
.
* David Eigenberg (I) was in Sam the Man (2000) with Marin Hinkle.
* Marin Hinkle was in Rails & Ties (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

Evan Handler has a Bacon number of 2.
* Evan Handler was in War and Love (1985) with Kyra Sedgwick.
* Kyra Sedgwick was in Loverboy (2005) with Kevin Bacon.

Jason Lewis (I) has a Bacon number of 2.
* Jason Lewis (I) was in Pardon, The (2008) with Leigh Whannell.
* Leigh Whannell was in Death Sentence (2007) with Kevin Bacon.

Nearly caught up with the reviews – one more to go – stay tuned for the review on Hancock.

Leave a Reply

