Teaching An Old Dog New Tricks!

Mood: Geeky

I’ve now been blogging for about 16 months, and have only ever really used Windows Live Spaces. There were reasons why I chose to have my very own Space – I have a Hotmail account which gave me a free Space, and at the time, it was just too hard to try and set up a blog elsewhere.

Of course, I’ve since found out that there are about a million different sites where one can set up their own blog, and MySpace, LiveJournal and Blogger.com are just some of the sites that are "all the rage".

I’m still relatively new to the world of blogging, but I’ve found Windows Live Spaces quite easy to use. Using my very limited HTML knowledge (gleaned from my days as a website administrator for a soccer club for amateur players) and coupled with the layout and colour options available, I have been able to customise my "Space" to my liking.

Tonight, as I was messing about on my Space, I discovered a new application that was designed to enable bloggers with Windows Live Spaces to upload their blogs with greater ease.

The description of the application states "Writer is a free desktop application that makes it easy to publish rich content to your blog. Get offline editing, spell check, and more." On the introduction page (where you can also download the application), Windows Live lists some advantages of using the application, namely WYSIWYG Editing and Photo Publishing. I was especially interested in the photo publishing bit, so I downloaded the application and started messing around with it.

The program is amazingly easy to use, but for the very particular people like me, who are very set in their ways and have a preferred look for their blog, I embarked on a mission to uncover the HTML code that would help me manipulate the very customised look and feel of my Space.

It’s now 2.20am and I’ve finally worked it out. The exercise has only taken 4 hours, but I have worked it out. Yay for me!

Leave a Reply

