Miss Universe – You Are So Beautiful

I had two guilty pleasures last night – eating a mountain of BBQ ribs and watching Miss Universe 2007.

The BBQ ribs were ordered because I needed a treat. My head space has been a massive jumble for the past few weeks and the ribs were exactly what the doctor ordered.

As for the Miss Universe pageant, to be honest, I only watched the show last night because I heard Miss USA took a tumble and was later booed during her question time. Hearing that even a woman with so much poise can slip up in front of an estimated viewing audience of over 1 billion (and lived to tell the tale), my recent woes paled into insignificance in comparison to her widely viewed blunder, instantly making the incident "must see" TV.

Deliberately, I tuned in around the half way mark to avoid seeing the national costumes segment (always thought this segment was too cheesy for words) and Miss Australia bombing out of the competition (unsurprising – no one can match our Jennifer "Hawko" Hawkins, who was crowned Miss Universe in 2004). I was tidying my kitchen as the hosts announced the final 10.

My full attention was paid to the pageant at the evening gown segment. The most striking of the contestants was Miss Tanzania, a stunning dark skinned bald creature in a flowing white dress. Miss Korea (with the most delectable name of Honey Lee) was my next favourite. Miss USA’s acrobatics took place in this segment, and whilst it may remain the most embarrassing moment of her entire life, kudos to her for continuing on with an almost sincere smile for the rest of the pageant.

At the conclusion of the evening gown segment, Miss Photogenic and Miss Congeniality were awarded to Miss Philippines and Miss China respectively. And at this point, an interesting thought crossed my mind – there were no blondes! Not amongst the final 10, and definitely not amongst the special awards recipients!

The final 5 were announced next and in no particular order, they were Miss Venezuela, Miss Korea, Miss Brazil, Miss USA and Miss Japan.

Next came my favourite part of pageant – question time. It’s such a joke – no matter what the question is, the answer would always be a variation of "world peace". So, without further ado, let’s recap on the Q&A part of Miss Universe 2007.

Q: Miss Venezuela, would you rather have a relationship with a guy who is spontaneous and wild or one that plays it safe?
A. You have to feel it’s fair, someone that is good for you and someone who will be a companion. I believe in every relationship you need give and take to have the flame of passion.

Q: Miss Korea, if you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?
A: Missionary work is my dream, and if i were to have a superpower, I would like to have a superpower that enables me to use my power, authority and money to help me with my missionary work. And actually a wallet that never dries up would be a good superpower to have.

Q: Miss Brazil, is it better to live following your heart or your mind?
A: I think that in life there should be a balance. Both the heart and mind is important. What’s most important is you follow your heart and what’s better for everybody.

Q: Miss USA, if you could relive one moment in your life, what would it be?
A: I would go back to January 2007 when I travelled to the Oprah Winfrey Leadership School in South Africa. Being there sparked my interest in education.

Q: Miss Japan, what lesson learned as a child still affects your life today?
A: I’ve been dancing since I was a child. I lived my life growing up among students and teachers. I learned to be happy, patient and positive, and this is what I want to teach to the next generation.

Translation for all answers given – world peace. Love it!

Miss Japan took out the title, beating Miss Brazil (runner up), Miss Venezuela (2nd runner up), Miss Korea (3rd runner up) and Miss USA (4th runner up). I was a tad disappointed – I wanted an Asian quinella with Miss Korea to win. Imagine how much fun it would be to announce "Miss Universe Honey Lee" for 12 months!

4 responses to “Miss Universe – You Are So Beautiful

  1. They were so all prepared answers too!
     
    You missed Miss Dominican Republic and her MASSIVE BREASTS!!!
     

  2. Tee hee hehehehehehehehehehe
    I knew I should have tuned in earlier!!
    Ahahahahahahahahahahaha

  3. She came out  i was like "Woah!" and i am a chick!

  4. LOVE IT! LOVE IT! You seriously crack me up dude! ‘Asian’ quinella!! Hilarious!!!!!!!!!!!!! ‘Honey Lee…’ oh dear….i should change my name?? :Pvan

Leave a Reply

