The Perfect Word!!

I’ve finally found the perfect word: McJob – and I have one of those!!

Dictionary.com defines a McJob as:

* an unstimulating, low-wage job with few benefits, esp. in a service industry;
* a job, usually in the retail or service sector, that is low paying, often temporary, and offers minimal or no benefits or opportunity for promotion.

It appears the term has been around for ages – about 20 years to be precise. In 1991, it was popularised by the author Douglas Coupland in his novel Generation X: Tales for an Accelerated Culture, when he used it to describe "a low-pay, low-prestige, low-dignity, low benefit, no-future job in the service sector. Frequently considered a satisfying career choice by people who have never held one."

I’ve been bitching and moaning about work for months now, and just when I thought I’d run out of silver linings to cheer myself up about the rut I feel is work, along comes the word that perfectly summarises how I feel about my job.

For some time now, I’ve felt that my job is unstimulating. I’ve done some salary comparisons, and my current salary is very low compared to those of others with the same skill set. My manager has heavily hinted (on more than one occasion) that there are little or no opportunities to promote me higher than what I am (the office pleb).

The perfect word has put a smile back on my face and a little ray of hope in my heart. I know I’ll be frustrated by work related issues again next week, but at least I now have a silly little word to get me through the "argh" times. And it has spurred me on to find a better job so I can get rid of this McJob.

I’m lovin’ it!

Leave a Reply

