The Office Pleb


I am just the fucking office pleb.
And don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.
I’m so fed up with how I’m being treated; I could cry.
But what’s the use of crying? Just makes everyone around me uncomfortable.
Please, feel free to talk to me like I’m an idiot. It’s the only reason why I’m wearing my idiot face today.
"Copy this. File that." I was hired as a consultant. Consult on what?? Which brand of paper we should use in which printer?
"Do this. Do that. Oh, why haven’t you done what I asked?" Well, brief me properly instead of giving me half-baked instructions and I might just have a chance! And shrugging your shoulders when I ask you questions is not the correct answer!
"Oh, why don’t we do it this way?" I’m happy to accommodate your every need and suggestion, but we have been doing things in certain ways because they work. And when the new ways don’t work out, I can just see who will get the blame for it. And it won’t be you.
I stare blankly at you, not because I don’t understand, but because I’ve glazed over with indifference. Because you are explaining to me processes that I helped to develop. Processes which, up to now, you have steadfastly refused to neither follow nor attempted to understand.
I don’t bother answering your questions, not because you’ve worked it out, but because you don’t care for my opinion. You ask me questions, and I give you answers, but you discard the answers even before the thought process has fully kicked over.
I don’t bother confirming if I’ve completed tasks, simply because you don’t take the time to remember that I have completed the tasks. By the 5th time you ask in the space of 3 hours, I have moved beyond ropeable and don’t say anything for fear of what might come out of my mouth.
Do you have any idea what I do every day? Do you care what I do every day? I bet you don’t, on either account. Yet I can tell you exactly what you do and how you do it.
And no, I’m not okay. Even blind Freddy can see I’m not okay. But I can’t tell you that because you don’t care. I tell you what you need to hear, which is that I’m okay.
I’m just the fucking office pleb.
And don’t let anyone tell you otherwise.

One response to “The Office Pleb

  1. Oh sweetie, hugs, hugs and more hugs!

Leave a Reply

