Happy New Year!

Happy 2007!

It’s been a while since I’ve written in this blog, but then again, it’s been a while since I’ve had anything worthy to write about.

There’s a lot to ponder over the past 12 months – I don’t even know really where to begin. I’m just glad last year is now over – it wasn’t the best on record (but certainly not the worst) so it can only get better from here. And if you believe in astrology, the only way is up for me in 2007!

I began 2006 as a single woman, leaving behind a dead-end relationship with a guy who wasn’t willing to make any effort in life. I kicked myself for letting it happen – spending a year with a guy who thought everything was too hard. My friends (bless them) now tell me without any reservation that they thought he was a selfish pig, and no one could believe I stuck around and took it. The fear of being left on the shelf a dusty old maid played a large part in my perseverance in making a go of a relationship I knew was wrong for me way back in April 2006 – the Whitlams were spot on when they said "there’s no aphrodisiac like loneliness". I made a timid attempt to date again this year (a young man I deemed lovely at the time), but that turned pear shaped with frightening speed. My ego was further crushed by the revelation that the man I had feelings for stated, in no uncertain terms, that he would be the happiest / luckiest man on earth if he only found me attractive. Yup – the only way is up!

I’d spent 2005 proving myself at work – working late, going the extra mile – with seemingly little result as far as progression was concerned. At the start of 2006, I was a little dissatisfied with my job – I felt like I was stuck in a rut – and made half-hearted attempts to look for a new job. Nothing appealed and I resolved myself to tackle my job with renewed gusto. I was eventually rewarded with a promotion, and a secondment to a leading financial institution with a city location. I must have impressed, as I’m still working on this project 7 months later, well and truly exceeding the original agreed 6 week assignment. A few weeks ago, a bombshell was dropped when my boss revealed she was moving on to a different role within the company, and in doing so, would step down as the head of the division to which I belong. I felt tremendously sad and quite lost at the prospect of losing my boss – we had grown so close that I could tell what she was thinking by looking at her. Fortunately, I was presented with an opportunity to have a good chat with her over a few glasses of wine, and she made me understand that there are now more opportunities for me to grow with the company. A casual chat with an old colleague at the work Christmas function is now leading to some further discussions around some work in London – the much yearned dream of working overseas may finally come true. Yep – the only way is up!

Thankfully, when all else fails, my family prevails. About a month ago, my sister gave me the best birthday present ever by producing a gorgeous son 2 hours after the official end of “my” day. My gorgeous niece Renée is almost speaking full sentences and is such a big girl – she had a little trouble adjusting to having a little brother in Kiran, but she soon learnt new responsibilities and is the perfect protective big sister. After an inauspicious start on Australia Day 2006, my adorable nephew Tommy is now almost walking and talking and is the world’s friendliest and happiest baby – always smiling and laughing. My parents have been a constant source of support, as are my sisters and brothers-in-law. Although I don’t tell them enough, I’m grateful every day that I have this family.

2006 proved to the Year of the Romantics, with an alarmingly large number of friends getting engaged and/or married. I’m now looking forward to attending many weddings in the next couple of years. One of the constants in my life has always been my friends, and I’m pleased to say that my relationships with those closest to me have been strengthened this year. I’ve also had the pleasure of meeting some new friends, and hope to have many more good times with them in 2007.

2007 promises to be a bigger and brighter year. Work continues with my assignment, and talks will take place in January about some possible work overseas. Excitingly, the biennial company conference is on at the end of February, which I have played a key part in organising. I’m really looking forward to seeing the fruits of labour unfold in front of 180 colleagues. There is also a possibility of starting a Masters degree – I must be crazy to go back to studying! A number of trips have been planned for this year – Caloundra QLD at the end of January and Brazil in March to name just 2, both to attend weddings, and perhaps another trip home to Hong Kong in September if I can afford the time. And there is this one lovely young man who is oh so cute … Yep – the only way is up!

But first – I’m off to the 1st day of the 5th Ashes Test tomorrow. I’m sure there will be more tales to tell (and photographic evidence to back up my tales) in a few days.

Leave a Reply

